Ministry Staff

Lead Pastor

Rev. Joshua T. Johnson

Johnson Family Photo - 11-2015

Pastor Josh joined the New Beginnings community in 2012. He is a graduate of Gordon College in Wenham, MA and of Nazarene Theological Seminary in Kansas City, MO and an ordained elder in the Church of the Nazarene.  Prior to partnering with New Beginnings, Pastor Josh ministered in Downers Grove, IL, Lee’s Summit, MO, Independence, MO, Blue Springs, MO, Grain Valley, MO, and taught biblical Hebrew at Nazarene Theological Seminary.  He loves basketball, soccer, and tennis, is a science-fiction nerd, and is passionate about pursuing an ever-deepening knowledge of God.

email: jthomasjohnson24@gmail.com

blog: shadowofthecross.org/blog

Associate Minister of Intergenerational Discipleship

Rev. Dallas Tharp

Pastor Dallas joined the New Beginnings community in July of 2016. He is a graduate of Olivet Nazarene University in Bourbonnais, IL and of Nazarene Theological Seminary in Kansas City, MO and is a district licensed minister in the Church of the Nazarene. Prior to partnering with New Beginnings, Pastor Dallas has ministered in Arkansas and Raytown, MO. You will often find him engaged in sports, talking about superheroes, and playing video and board games. He also has a deep desire for families to come together in Christ.

email: pastordallastharp@gmail.com

Associate Minister of Visitation

Rev. Mike Matthews


Pastor Mike joined the New Beginnings ministry team in the Fall of 2013.  He is a graduate of Eastern Nazarene College in Quincy, MA and an ordained elder in the Church of the Nazarene. Prior to partnering with New Beginnings, Pastor Mike has ministered in Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Vermont.

Email: michael.mike.matthews@gmail.com

Office Administrator

Phyllis Huntley


Phyllis joined the ministry team of New Beginnings in April of 2004. In addition to her office responsibilities, Phyllis has a love and passion for missions and for the discipleship of children. Phyllis leads our Wednesday night Kids Time program during the school year and participates in Kidz Passport to Missions and Bible Adventure Camp (formerly called Vacation Bible School).

Email: office.LNBnazarene@gmail.com

Ministry Teams

Executive Board

Highest level of elected leadership in our church structure.

2017-18 Executive Board:

Pastor Joshua Johnson (Chair/President) – Nyles Johnson (Executive Secretary) – Alan Gray (Treasurer) – Esther Phillips (Chair of Stewards) – Tom Spaulding (Chair of Trustees) – Eric Johansen (SDMI Superintendent) – Shelley Wilson (NMI President) – (NYI President-currently vacant)

Board of Trustees

The Trustees coordinate and cultivate care for our facilities and properties

2017-18 Trustees:

Tom Spaulding (Chair) – Mike Beevers – Jeff Jordan – Bob Phillips – Roberta Tibbetts


Board of Stewards

The Stewards are ministers who support the members of our community, our Pastors, and our corporate worship

2017-18 Stewards:

Esther Phillips (Chair) – Martha Barnard – Tony Gillespie – Gregg Lantos – Naomi Matthews


Sunday School & Discipleship Ministries International (SDMI)

SDMI coordinates and cultivates our educational and discipleship ministries

2017-18 SDMI Board:

Eric Johansen (Superintendent) – Cyndi Beevers – Heather DeAngelis – Ruth Duquette – Joyce Klittich – Susan Masters – Diane Spaulding – Shelley Wilson (NMI) – Pastor Dallas Tharp (ex officio)


Nazarene Missions International (NMI)

NMI coordinates, cultivates, and supports both local and overseas missions in and through our local church

2017-18 NMI Executive Council:

Shelley Wilson (President) – Kim Crowley (Vice-President) – Jaimie Gareau (Secretary) – Heidi Johansen (Treasurer) – Ranée Boyd – Evelyn Johnson – Rev. Mike Matthews (District NMI) – Pastor Dallas Tharp (ex officio)


Nazarene Youth International (NYI)

NYI coordinates and supports youth discipleship and fellowship ministries for students 7th – College & Career

2017-18 NYI Executive Council:

Pastor Dallas Tharp (Chair) – TBA (Vice-President) – TBA (Council Members) – TBA (Adult Members) – (President – currently vacant)


Finance Committee

The Finance Committee overseas income and expenses, prepares the Annual Budget, and makes practical and policy-related financial recommendations to the church board

2017-18 Finance Committee:

Lynda Johnson (Chair) – Rev. Joshua Johnson (Lead Pastor) – Alan Gray (Treasurer) – Deb Jordan – Vickie Phillips


Membership Committee

The Membership Committee oversees our membership records, interviews new members, and makes membership recommendations to the church board

2017-18 Church Membership Committee

Rev. Joshua Johnson (Lead Pastor – Chair) – Lucy Bollinger – Maxine Genest

Church of the Nazarene – Loudon, NH